Time Zones

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Travel and other Australian topics.

What are the time zones in Australia?

Time Zones

Time Zones
There are three time zones in Australia - Eastern Standard Time (EST), which operates in New South Wales, Australian Capital Territory, Victoria, Tasmania and Queensland; Central Standard Time (CST) in South Australia and Northern Territory; and Western Standard Time (WST) in Western Australia.
CST is one half hour behind EST, while WST is two hours behind EST. Australian states except Northern Territory and Western Australia and Queensland have daylight saving during the summer months.
Daylight saving runs in New South Wales, the Australian Capital Territory, Victoria and South Australia from the end of October through to the end of March, Tasmania from the beginning of October through to the end of March.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Australian Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Heidi Splete