Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Australian Capital Territory and other Australian topics.

What is the history of the ACT?


The Australian Capital Territory is entirely surrounded by the state of New South Wales. It is bordered by three rivers to the south, north-east and west, and a railway line in the east proper.

The ACT contains cultivated farm land as well as the city of Canberra. The entire area is well above sea level, with the lowest point, located on the Murrumbidgee River, being 429m above sea level.

The territory contains several mountains, the highest being Mt Bimberi, which is located on the south-west border with New South Wales.

The ACT has a number of national parks including the Namadgi National Park, which contains Mt Bimberi. The park meets the Kosciuszko National Park which is located in New South Wales, and supplies 85% of the territory's water.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Australian Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Kristle Jones