Interesting Trivia

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Australian Capital Territory and other Australian topics.

What are the towns/cities of ACT?

Interesting Trivia

The animal emblem for the Australian Capital Territory is the Red Kangaroo. The Wedge-tailed eagle is the bird emblem. The Sturt´s Desert Rose is the floral emblem.

The streets in each of Canberra's suburbs are named according to a theme. Often, the theme links in with the suburb's own name.

Canberra is home to a number of important Australian institutions, including the Royal Australian Mint, the Royal Military College of Australia, and the Australian Institute of Sport, where Australia's elite athletes receive their training.

'Canberra' is thought to mean 'meeting place' in one of the local Aboriginal languages.

The name of the Australian Prime Minister's residence in Canberra is simply 'The Lodge'.



3/14/2007 9:25:24 PM
Natasha said:

It is not true

6/20/2007 3:30:13 PM
Rick said:

The area of th eACT is actually on 2358 square km. The figure wuoted would actually make it slightly larger than the Northern Teritory (excluding its islands)

8/20/2007 12:49:40 AM
courtney said:

great job very good info and easy to understand

6/10/2009 1:11:37 AM
Lisa Bloomfield said:

The animal, bird and floral emblems you have listed for the A.C.T. are actually the ones for the Northern Territory. The floral emblems for the A.C.T. is the Royal Bluebell and the bird is the Gang Gang Cockatoo. There is no official animal emblem for the A.C.T.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Australian Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Lynda Moultry