Towns and Districts in the ACT

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Australian Capital Territory and other Australian topics.

Towns and Districts in the ACT

Although it takes up less than 40% of the area of the ACT, Canberra is home to 99% of the territory's population. There are seven districts in Canberra: North Canberra (15 suburbs), South Canberra (13 suburbs), Woden Valley (12 suburbs), Belconnen (25 suburbs), Weston Creek (8 suburbs), Tuggeranong (19 suburbs), and Gungahlin (18 suburbs).

Outside of Canberra, there are a few small towns including Tharwa, Naas, Pierces Creek and Cotter. Uriarra is on the western border with New South Wales. Queanbeyan, the closest big town to Canberra, is just outside of the territory, as is the small towns of Royalla and Williamsdale.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Australian Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Lynda Moultry