Why the 'Australian Capital Territory'?

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Australian Capital Territory and other Australian topics.

Why the 'Australian Capital Territory'?

Why is it called the 'Australian Capital Territory'? The Australian Capital Territory (ACT) encompasses the city of Canberra. It is entirely surrounded by the state of New South Wales and is by far the smallest self-governing internal territory in Australia. The territory is so called because it contains the nation's capital.

The area was given over to the capital after the nation became federated. New South Wales gave the territory over to the Federation in 1911, two years before the capital was named.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Australian Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Jolyn Wells-Moran