Political Parties

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Australian Culture and other Australian topics.

What is the Government of Australia?

Political Parties

There are four major political parties in Australia: the Australian Labor Party (ALP), the Liberal Party of Australia (Liberals), the National Party of Australia (National Party), and the Australian Democrats (Democrats). All are moderate social-democratic parties. Traditionally, the ALP is associated with trade unions, the Liberals are aligned with business interests, the National Party is more conservative, and the Democrats are more progressive, but these differences have become increasingly blurred. As with many western countries, the system is essentially a two-party system, and all major roles have been filled by the ALP and Liberals for many decades.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Australian Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Jolyn Wells-Moran